5 Considerations on Technical College

Lanejohn
4 min readSep 8, 2024

Might Be Your Most Important Decision

Photo by mick henson on Unsplash

For one calendar year, I enrolled in (insert technical college here) in their (insert major here) program. Although I was in my mid-fifties and did look a bit out of place (most of these schools are populated by students just out of high school, so on more than one occasion, I was asked if I was teaching), I worked hard to try to complete as much of the program as possible. At the end of the first semester, despite passing every subject (seven) and staying until the semester’s end, I was one of seven that ultimately dropped out of the program. I did stay an additional semester, hoping to change programs and taking all general education courses (boosting my cumulative GPA from 2.811 to 3.294). Ultimately, after much prayer and discussion with the missus, it was best decided to drop out of college altogether.

Now, that I am working a full-time job and had some time to reflect on the experience, I wanted to share my thoughts on anyone considering taking a similar trajectory. If this article was available to me before I decided to take the plunge, I might have made a better-informed decision. (I don’t regret going there. I just might have been better prepared for the experience.)

  1. Does one need to have vo-tech experience before enrolling? Although not mandatory, in my opinion, it is strongly…

--

--

Lanejohn

John’s fiction has appeared in literary and horror publications.